Meet Digitas Guru, Lily!

lilyhanlonstudentprofilepicture

Name: Lily Hanlon
Class Year: 2017
Major: Communication and Psychology
Favorite Class: Pop Culture Theory with Professor Serazio

Favorite thing about BC:
The people I’ve met here and the friends I’ve made through my classes, working as a health coach, etc.

What can you see yourself doing after graduation?
Based on my internship experience this past summer at DigitasLBi, I would love to pursue a career in digital marketing and advertising, but I’m also interested in exploring TV production and screenwriting at some point in the future.

What are you doing to get there?
I interned at DigitasLBi last summer, so that was my first exposure to the field of marketing. I still keep in touch with my mentor, my bosses, and my co-workers from Digitas weekly and have made close friends in the marketing industry through this experience. I’m also exploring the Senior Internship Seminar in the Communications department at BC, which gives seniors the opportunity to earn course credit by interning during the fall or spring semester. This opportunity will allow me to network with employers in my field of interest and experience new fields or career interests.

How did you learn about digital marketing and advertising?
I attended some of the BC Marketing Academy events which sparked my interest. I also thought marketing would complement my psychology and communication majors because in marketing, you need to communicate messages effectively in order to target specific segments of the market.

What factors have contributed to your interest in digital marketing and advertising?
My internship at DigitasLBi made me want to pursue a career in digital marketing and advertising. It was my first experience in marketing, and I was fortunate enough to work for an amazing company comprised of great people, an awesome office culture, and excellent learning experiences. I enjoyed working in Account Management, in which I served as the liaison between the marketing agency and the client and represented the voice of the client at agency meetings to ensure the client got the results it wanted from the agency.

How did you get started exploring potential careers?
I’ve explored a diverse array of potential careers. In high school, I thought wanted to be a veterinarian, so I did an internship at a veterinarian clinic my senior year. When that didn’t work out, I thought I wanted to go into merchandising, so I did an externship at The TJX Companies, Inc. (TJX). When that experience didn’t spark my interest, I interned at a public defender’s office in Rhode Island, where I shadowed lawyers and interviewed inmates and people who had been arrested to determine if they qualified for a public defender and to get their statement of the facts regarding their arrest (I was considering going to law school at the time). However, I still wanted to keep my options open, so I tried out digital marketing and advertising at DigitasLBi.

What advice would you give to students who are also interested in digital marketing and advertising?
I would encourage students to explore different career options, because they may find something they love that they didn’t expect to love. In terms of pursuing a career in digital marketing and advertising, I would advise students that even if you don’t think you’re creative, everyone is creative in their own way. I can’t draw, design advertisements, or write copy, but everyone brings unique skills and experiences to the table that work together to create the desired end result in the workplace. DigitasLBi appreciated my diverse internship experiences and unique major combination because my background enabled me to bring fresh, different perspectives to the team on which I worked.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?
I’m proud that I pushed myself to go to Spain alone and study abroad for a summer, because I’m not usually one to step out of my comfort zone. It ended up being the best summer of my life!

Who are your heroes in real life?
My hero is my mom because she made an inspirational career change and is an amazing mother. She majored in business and entrepreneurship in college, ended up being a stay-at-home mom, but then discovered her passion for working with kids after she had me and my brother. She got her teaching certificate and is now a certified substitute teacher and English and Language Arts tutor.

Leave a Reply

