Get to Know Your PCA: Evelyn Baxley

13435331_10205211708007292_5768571140325548477_n

Name: Evelyn Baxley
Class Year: 2018
Major: Communication
Favorite Class: Political Communication
Favorite thing about BC: The Res

What can you see yourself doing after graduation?
I’d like to work at a marketing firm as an account manager.

What are you doing to get there?
I’m taking more skills-based classes as I get further along in my BC education: Art & Digital Technology, another language, a Marketing Principles class.

How did you learn about digital marketing and advertising?
Sophomore year, I participated in a career trek through Endeavor and we visited a digital marketing company in Boston. I realized on our tour that my skillset and interests all applied to this arena, so I explored it more when I got home and decided it was a good fit for me.

What factors have contributed to your interest in digital marketing and advertising?
I enjoy the creativity, the people-to-people aspect, the psychology behind it, the
art, the competition, and the global aspect; Marketing allows me to use my passion
for languages, writing, and helping people reach their potential.

How did you get started exploring potential careers?
I mentioned this earlier, but I started exploring careers primarily through Endeavor during Sophomore year. I visited the Career Center a lot afterwards to narrow down my skillset, get advice on classes to take to hone my skills, and now I’m trying to figure out specific firms I want to work for, or cities I want to live in.

What advice would you give to students who are also interested in digital marketing and advertising?
BC is a liberal arts education, which leaves you very well-rounded, but has the potential to only leave you with a soft-skill set. Take classes that teach you a program like Photoshop or Excel, so you can put it on your resume. Get hands-on experience, even if it’s for free. My marketing internship this past summer was unpaid, but my boss taught me how to edit video, use search engine optimization, and WordPress. I picked up a second job to save money, but my internship taught me skills I can use later down the road.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?
This transformation:

Who are your heroes in real life?
My mom and dad are definitely my role models. My dad taught me to do the right thing, even when it’s difficult. He was born in Dothan, AL. in 1941, in what we call “wiregrass Alabama.” That is deep South. He became a lawyer and a civil rights activist. He would occasionally receive threats from the KKK, but he never stopped fighting for social justice. And my mom is my sanity. She grew up in New Orleans, and was a journalist for the Associated Press, so she not only taught me the power of words, but also manages to put everything in perspective for me in times of stress. There’s a phrase in Louisiana, laissez-les bons temps rouler, which means “Let the good times roll.” To me, whenever I hear it, I think of hanging out with my family–eating, drinking, laughing– and suddenly all my problems seem manageable because I know I still have my loved ones.

Leave a Reply

