Student Spotlight: Meet Bernardo!

bernardo

Name: Bernardo Sonego

Class Year: 2018

Major: Economics

Favorite Class: Latin American Politics

Favorite thing about BC: The people

What can you see yourself doing after graduation?

I see myself trying to find an industry or line of work that will make me happy. Whether that will be in the private or the public sector, self-employed, or working at a big corporation, I don’t know. I see myself being open to different options and choosing the one that I believe will make me happiest, while being open to making mistakes and finding my passions.

What are you doing to get there?

I like to maintain a diverse approach to classes, languages, and even experience different countries where I could imagine myself living and working. I have tried out working in the public sector, and I plan on getting experience in the private sector, then comparing both.

Does it make you nervous not knowing?

Although I don’t have a specific industry I see myself in, I have ones that I’m close to and see as likely candidates. One is the public sector, whether directly related to politics, or working for a public department like a Central Bank, I have always been very passionate about politics and the public life. Given my interest in economics, I always follow new developments in the media, and trying to broaden my understanding. The second is the agricultural industry. My family is closely connected to that sector, and I find it both very interesting and very appealing due to the environment and the long-term nature of the business.

What factors have contributed to your interest in the public sector and agricultural industry?

The main factor for both has been my closeness to both industries. I have been connected to politics due to living in a very politicized country (Argentina), as well as through conversations with my family, who have always been very interested in that arena. As for agriculture, it has to be due to my family and their activities in the sector.

How did you get started exploring potential careers?

I got started based on the interests and new experiences that I’ve been able to take advantage of through BC clubs and organizations. More than exploring the current careers I see myself in, my experience has helped me realize which industries I appreciate and like, but could not see myself working in. For example, I worked as an intern this past summer in Ireland, analyzing data for the Green Party. I help organize and lead “Tech Treks” into Boston as part of one of my clubs. Exploring many areas, I went through an elimination process, realizing many careers were not like I imagined them, or others were just not enjoyable for me.

What advice would you give to students who are also interested in politics or business?

I would say to anyone interested in any career: put yourself out there, find a club, activity, or class on campus that is related to what you like, and see if you truly like it or not. Since I have not graduated yet, I cannot really tell what helps to find the best career path possible. Yet, I can say that being exposed to my interests directly I’ve been able to discern which things I’m truly passionate about, and what industries and careers I know I will give a chance after college.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?

I’m very glad of the fact that I put myself out there when I came to college without knowing anyone or having a detailed idea of what college in the USA was about, but rather with the enthusiasm of tackling a new challenge and taking full advantage of it. While I am not have this attitude 100% of the time, I try to implement it and find new opportunities to meet new people, find new classes, investigate current events, and take advantage of all the opportunities BC has to offer.

Who are your heroes in real life?

The men and women who put their lives at risk every day to keep this country safe.

argentina

Leave a Reply

