Get To Know Your Peer Career Advisor, Kaitlin Poor!

poorkaitlin

Name: Kaitlin Poor

Class Year: 2017

Major: Applied Psychology and Human Development

Favorite Classes: 

1) Mental Illness: Social and Clinical Perspectives

2) Elements of Dance (aka the BEST art core class)

Favorite thing about BC: Mod life

What can you see yourself doing after graduation?

I accepted a job offer to work for EY full-time as a Consultant in their People Advisory Services (PAS) practice in New York City after interning with them in PAS this past summer, so that’s what I’ll be doing!

What are you doing to get there?

I think I’m already there?

How did you learn about Human Capital Consulting?

I worked as a Human Resources Intern for Spartan Race the summer after my sophomore year. Although I enjoyed it, I realized that I wanted to do something that required more critical thinking and that involved working directly with clients or customers. Last fall, I came across EY’s Human Capital Intern position on EagleLink, liked how it sounded like HR in a consulting setting, and applied for the position. I was fortunate enough to land the internship with EY in Boston.

What factors have contributed to your interest in Human Capital Consulting?

Although I’m an Applied Psychology and Human Development major, my focus area is in Organization Studies/Human Resources with a minor in Management and Leadership. I started to become interested in human resources and organizational development through some of the management classes I’ve taken, such as Organizational Behavior, Human Resource Management, Managing Change, and Strategic Management, so I thought Human Capital Consulting would align well with my interests.

How did you get started exploring potential careers?

I started exploring potential careers by doing online research about fields I was interested in, such as human resources, consulting, and counseling. For the most part though, I would just go on EagleLink, filter my advanced search for internships by different industries or job functions I was interested in, read the job descriptions of any positions that interested me, and would apply to the positions that I thought I would enjoy.

What advice would you give to students who are also interested in Human Capital Consulting?

I did not use any special strategy to land my internship- I just applied through EagleLink and was lucky enough to be chosen for an interview. However, I would advise students interested in Human Capital Consulting to do online research on which companies even offer Human Capital Consulting positions, because it’s somewhat of a niche/up-and-coming industry. I would also advise students to reach out to people like me who have worked or currently work in a Human Capital Consulting position to learn what it’s like to work in this industry and to learn more about opportunities to work in this kind of position. You can also use LinkedIn to find BC alumni who work in this industry and reach out to them as well (BC alumni love to talk to BC students/grads)!

What do you consider your greatest achievement?

Honestly, I consider my greatest achievement to be any day when I treat other people with love, kindness, and respect. When I act as a good person to other people, I feel like I’ve made someone else’s life better and in doing so achieved something great.

Who are your heroes in real life?

My mom and dad are definitely my real life heroes. I never would have gotten to where I am today as a person, an academic, and a rising professional without the love and support of my parents. My mom and dad are my best friends and my role models, and I couldn’t be more thankful for them and their love for me.

Leave a Reply

