Meet Theater Guru, Julianne Mason!

img_18511-1

Name: Julianne Mason

Majors: Theatre Arts & Music

Year: 2017

Favorite Class: Musical Theatre Performane

Favorite Thing about BC: The huge cookies in Stuart (RIP)

What can you see yourself doing after graduation?

I’m thinking about possibly going to grad school, or going into sound design (I’m sound designing 3 shows for the theatre department this year), or maybe going into professional singing. Either way, I’ll be doing something in the creative field.

What are you doing to get there?

This summer, I was an artistic intern for the National Symphony Orchestra at the Kennedy Center, where I worked directly with guest artists, conductors, and soloists as part of an artistic administration experience. I’ve also worked on and off at improvBoston in the past, which was a lot of fun. I’m just trying to learn as much as I can in my classes, which I could hopefully apply in the future, but lots of things interest me, so I’d be happy working in any field.

Who are your heroes in real life?

My mom. She always knew what she wanted to do in life, so she went and got herself through med school at Duke using a Navy scholarship. Even though she’s constantly working, she always sets aside time for us. She doesn’t know much about what I do, but she’s always incredibly supportive of me.

Leave a Reply

