Meet Bethany Candage, a Nurse Turned Sports Marketing Guru.

Name: Bethany Candage

Class Year: 2018

Major: Communication with focus in Marketing

Favorite Class: Christian Theology with Daniel Ulluchi

Favorite thing about BC: The sports teams. Coming from a small island off the coast of Maine, I haven’t really had the chance to experience big time athletics before I came here to BC. Once I arrived, I fell in love. 

What can you see yourself doing after graduation?

I absolutely want to work with a professional sports team, especially with a hockey organization. I love the Boston Bruins, and it has been a dream of mine since I was little to have the opportunity to work with them.

What are you doing to get there?

I joined a club on campus called EagleOps on a whim, and it ended up being on the best decisions I have made here at college. EagleOps, formerly known as Team Marketing, is a group of highly motivated students who share a common interest and passion for Boston College Athletics, and the Sports Marketing Industry. It is responsible for the execution of game atmosphere related activities during sporting events as well as the behind the scenes work associated with them. Through EagleOps I have made some lifelong friends while doing something that I am genuinely passionate about and strive to challenge myself in everyday.

How did you learn about Sports Marketing/Communications as a potential field of interest.

Through working with EagleOps I have discovered that Sports Marketing is my passion, and something that I genuinely enjoy doing. It did not feel like I was going to work when I would attend sporting events as an EagleOps representative. Nursing, however, while I enjoyed the program, I felt like I had to drag myself to classes Therefore, I knew that I wanted to go into Sports Marketing after exiting the nursing program.

What factors have contributed to you interest in Communications and Marketing?

EagleOps has had the single biggest impact on my life, and when I joined, I did not even realize that it would become my true calling. I like the creative and competitive nature that marketing has, and since it mirrors sports in many of its aspects, I knew that I could definitely find a niche in the industry.

How did you get started exploring potential careers?

I came into Boston College as a nursing student, and I switched into Communications after my sophomore year because of the impact that EagleOps had on me during my time with the club. I always thought nursing was my passion, but when I joined EagleOps, and stepped outside of my comfort zone, I found that I had an even bigger passion for sports marketing.

What advice would give students who are also interested in Communications and Marketing?

Step outside of your comfort zone. I could not have found my true passion without doing so. College is a time for you to try things that you thought you would never enjoy. Go out and join that club, or group and make some lasting memories and find what you are truly passionate about. Don’t do something, because you think it is your only option.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?

Overcoming my anxiety and depression has been my greatest accomplishment here at school, especially with regards to my family. Coming from a small town in Maine, it was very difficult coming to live on my own here on a college campus that outnumbers the population of my tiny island! That was a huge stressor for me early on, but over the past few years I have found personal ways to handle and cope with the stress and anxiety that comes with being on a big campus, and having a lot of expectation put on you.

Who are your heroes?

Bobby Orr…just kidding. But actually, my dad. He is the most hardworking person I know, and he instilled that hardworking attitude in me from a super young age, and for that I am forever grateful. He pushed me and wants me to do my very best. I am very thankful that he had pushed me past my limits and I attribute where I am today because of him.

Leave a Reply

