Get to Know Your Peer Career Advisor, Julia Xie!

img_1523

Name: Julia (Zhuolun) Xie

Class Year: 2019

Major: Art History and Economics

Favorite Class: Art and Patronage in Renaissance and Baroque Rome (taken in Rome, Italy)

Favorite thing about BC: Free coffee during finals!

What can you see yourself doing after graduation?

After I graduate from BC, I plan to continue onto either graduate school or law school (or J.D./M.A. dual degree programs in Law and Art History.)

In the long term, I hope to have a career related to art. Interested in contemporary and social issues, I want to do some interdisciplinary tryouts that could combine my two undergraduate majors- art history and economics- such as practicing art law, auctioning, museum licensing, and so on.

What are you doing to get there?

At this stage, I’m taking art history courses on different chronological periods to prepare myself with sufficient knowledge in art. In addition, I’m planning to take a few intro-to-law seminars to see if I’m interested in legal services. Apart from academics, I’m trying to keep myself updated on current happenings in the art world by subscribing to art news, going to exhibitions and auctions, and talking to people who currently work in the industry.

How did you learn about the art industry?

I took a two-year studio art course in high school which allowed me to work with various art media and   empowered me to see the world through an “artistic” perspective. I started going to art exhibitions, volunteering in museums, and realizing that art is a huge industry and is literally everywhere in our daily lives.

What factors have contributed to your interest in art history?

I like the fact that art history is not just a study of the “history of art”. It’s more than just critiquing a single piece of artwork, but delving into the human history and seeing how the society has changed through time- to some extent, it almost feels like a social science to me, which is fascinating.

How did you get started exploring potential careers?

I started to explore potential careers in my freshman year through an event called “Career Night for the Arts”, where I got to talk to BC alumni who work in various art-related fields, such as museum curation, art administration, and art education. In the past summer I interned at a museum-licensing agent, where I learned about the brand management and product development within the industry of art.

What advice would you give to students who are also interested in the art industry?

I would say that art is a great interest and definitely hold on to it! There are a lot of career opportunities in the industry, so definitely try to explore them as much as possible and prepare yourself with sufficient knowledge. It’s also a good idea to reach out to people who work in art-related fields- they’ll give out really useful advice.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?

Being able to figure out who I am and where my real passion lies.

Who are your heroes in real life?

My parents and my grandparents- they are my biggest inspiration, and also the people I always look up to. Without them, I would never become who I am today.

Leave a Reply

