Student Profile: Nuria Escrivá García

nuria

Name: Nuria Escriva

Class Year: Junior

Major: Marketing and Information Systems

Favorite Class: Philosophy of the Person

Favorite thing about BC: The school spirit

What can you see yourself doing after graduation?

Working in a marketing agency or the marketing department of a multinational company

What are you doing to get there?

I just started my Marketing concentration this semester, but I have been taking Information Systems classes for 3 semesters already and I am really enjoying learning about how to build databases and how business use them to organize the information they hold. In addition to school, I also interned at Epsilon over the summer and learned a lot about email marketing and the best practices for sending emails.

Finally, I am interning at a startup this semester by building interactive campaigns from scratch and I have learned a lot about CSS (used to edit colors, sizes, fonts etc.)

How did you learn about Marketing and Information Systems?

I was first exposed to marketing and IT when I was in Spain for my freshmen and sophomore year of high school. I learned about Excel, Access, Dreamweaver and other programs in my IT class, and I learned about the marketing department in my business class.

What factors have contributed to your interest in marketing and information systems?

I have always liked technology, so when I got to BC, I knew that I wanted to gain more hard skills in this area. Marketing is something that is everywhere so I became interested in learning how different firms have different targeting strategies. I like learning about consumer behavior and the decision making process because you become more aware of how your behavior is being influenced by marketing campaigns.

How did you get started exploring potential careers?

I started attending information sessions and panels that I thought were relevant to me. After having some information, I decided that I didn’t want to go down the Investment Banking path, which was a possibility at first. I decided to do more research on marketing firms as well as consulting firms, which don’t require such a specific set of skills as the finance industry. After doing an internship at Epsilon in the summer of 2016, I became interested in systems analysis, although my job didn’t involve building databases, I did perform some analysis on the numbers.

What advice would you give to students who are also interested in marketing and information systems?

If you are interested in databases and analytics, the information systems concentration provides very useful information that will help you pursue a career in information systems. Although a lot of training happens on the job, the systems analysis class is really helpful for learning about how to build a system for a client.

If you are interested in Marketing, I recommend taking classes in marketing and finding internships both at marketing agencies and maybe also in the marketing department of a big company. There are many areas in the marketing industry so it is important to explore all of them!

What do you consider your greatest achievement?

My greatest achievement so far has definitely been coming to the US as an international student and getting to where I am today. I went to boarding school for junior and senior year of high school and it was such a great experience that I decided to stay here for college. Although the first semester was hard academically, I got used to taking all my classes in English and ended up doing really well! I think that being away from my family has made me very independent and has helped me learn how to make decisions on my own.

Who are your heroes in real life?

My parents are definitely the people I admire the most. They have made so many sacrifices to ensure that I get a very enriching education and I appreciate everything that they have done for me. They gave me the opportunity to go to one of the top 20 boarding schools in the United States and afterwards one of the top 5 business schools, when they could have sent me to university in Spain for free. Although they have given me a lot of freedom in the past few years, they have also provided me with the support I need when any problems arise. I am very grateful for the life they have given me because not a lot of people have this opportunity.

spain

Leave a Reply

