Meet Chiamaka Okorie – A Nursing Student with a Passion for Women’s Health

10887421_10203440092385547_7618237879900806208_o.jpg

Name: Sonia Chiamaka Okorie

Class Year: 2017

School/College: CSON

Major/Minor: Nursing

Favorite Class: Psychiatric Mental Health Theory

Favorite thing about BC: The people I’ve met

What can you see yourself doing after graduation? Working, hopefully!

What are activities and clubs are you involved with on campus?

President of Black Student Forum, Jamaica Magis, Resident Assistant, Member of the Keys to Inclusive Leadership in Nursing Council. Off-campus, I work as a Patient Care Associate at MGH and intern with Community Conversations: Sister to Sister.

What causes are you most passionate about?

I am most passionate about social justice and health inequalities.

What factors have contributed to your interest in nursing? Have you always known

that you have wanted to go into nursing?

No. Before BC, I had never considered nursing for a day in my life. I actually enrolled as a political science major, convinced I would enter the law or political fields. During a challenging freshman year, I began to be more attentive to other paths that suited my interests. I had been very involved in service and community activities in high school, so I started thinking of people-centered careers. Nursing caught my eye and I haven’t looked back!

Is there a specific type of nursing you would like to go into?

I would love to work as a nurse practitioner, especially with women. I think women’s health issues and narratives are so fascinating, and I most hope that I can provide advocacy alongside my care.

What advice would you give to students who are also interested in nursing and

would follow a similar career path as you?

I would advise them to be assertive! From the first day of nursing school to the last day of my nursing career, I know I will always ask for help, advice, and guidance when I need it. Building a network – a study group among friends, a few mentors, a team with your coworkers – has helped me grow immensely and has made this challenging experience worth it.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?

I don’t think I have one major achievement, I am proud of the milestones I’ve reached over the past 3 years at BC. From my first independent patient assessment to my independent research project in Ghana to helping create a KILN event for my peers, I am happy that I can say I have pushed myself to explore different sides of nursing.

Who are your heroes in real life? My mama!

Are you considering a post-graduate degree in the nursing field? If so, what degree

and why does that degree program spark interest in you?

I am considering a post-graduate degree as a Women’s Health Nurse Practitioner and someday, God willing, a Ph.D in nursing science or a public health degree. I love the intersection of feminism, nursing, and public health. One day, equipped with this education, I hope that I can serve, research, and advocate as a nurse!

Leave a Reply

