Meet Graduate Assistant, Katie Jouthas!

KatieJouthas

Name: Katie Jouthas

Class Year: First-Year Masters student

Major: Higher Education Administration, focus in Spirituality, Faith, and Formation

Favorite Class: Catholic Higher Education

Favorite thing about BC: The environment

What can you see yourself doing after graduation?

I hope to work in career coaching or academic advising to foster relationships with students and develop strategies to bridge academic affairs and student affairs.

What are you doing to get there?

My master’s degree and experience working at the Career Center are helping me develop relationships, skills, and knowledge to best prepare me for working in this field.

How did you learn about student affairs?

I learned about working in student affairs through my leadership at my undergraduate institution. I was more in love with my organizations and the work we were doing than my classes, and one day my supervisor revealed to me that I could do this for a living. That was the real “Aha!” moment when I realized I could continue to work with college students for a career.

What factors have contributed to your interest in student affairs?

I am attracted to working in student affairs because of the relationships and sense of community that comes with working on a college campus. It also is a field of continuous learning and you never know what the next day will bring. It is exciting to stay on my toes!

How did you get started exploring potential careers?

I started exploring potential careers through conversations with people I looked up to, by reading position descriptions of jobs that peaked my interest, and by getting involved on campus in multiple functional areas. Even today, I am still gaining exposure to new positions and learning about opportunities that could be in my future.

What advice would you give to students who are also interested in student affairs?

I would encourage you to connect with people in the field, ask every question you have, and try to take opportunities to gain exposure to the daily operations of the field. Sometimes we can get so excited about the positive moments, but it is important to identify the challenges that will push you to work harder and which ones are deal breakers.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?

My greatest achievement is moving from the west coast to the east coast at the young age of 21, and negotiating everything that comes with that move.

Who are your heroes in real life?

My heroes are my parents, aka my best friends. I look up to them for their hard work, love, and dedication supporting my brother and me. They inspire me to do my best every day and to make a difference in each community in which I am involved.

Leave a Reply

