Meet Peter Hunt, Assistant Director for Career Engagement (Lynch Liaison)!

PeterHunt

Name: Peter Hunt

Major when you were in college: History

Role in the Career Center: Assistant Director for Career Engagement (Lynch Liaison)

What do you do in the Career Center?

I empower students and young alumni to find their home in the world of work, to find that next role where they can nurture their best skills and contribute to making the world a better place. As a member of the Engagement Team, I am dedicated to advising Lynch School undergrads and graduate students on everything from career choice to cover letters.

How did you get there?

When I graduated from college, I worked my first job at the Rhode Island state prison, which was interesting but depressing. Then I worked in group homes for people with developmental disabilities. My first job in the career services field was at Brown University as a Career Resource Manager. I later moved to BC to start working in a very similar role in which I was responsible for writing everything on the Career Center’s website and working as a technology manager for the office. When I got my Masters of Education in Higher Education Administration in 2007, I started working as a career counselor, which is my current position in the BC Career Center. I’ve been working as a career counselor for 10 years now.

What kinds of questions can students ask you?

On a practical level, students can ask me how to stand out as a candidate in Education, how to define and accurately describe their strengths to employers in writing and in interviews, how to figure out alternative jobs or careers when their defined path is not making them happy, and how to identify great sources of jobs and internships.

What is the biggest piece of advice you would give to students looking to find an internship or job they truly enjoy?

The best piece of advice I can give is to push yourself to network with BC alumni and other people who work in your field(s) of interest; there are so many people out there who want to help you!

What activities do you enjoy outside of your job at BC?

I love to do anything outdoors, including cross-country skiing, biking, hiking with my family, and kayaking. I love music and I play some guitar. I also love to cook when I have the time. I almost went to cooking school!

What do you consider your greatest achievement?

Being a loving and attentive father to a child on the autism spectrum.

Who are your heroes in real life?

My wife is my hero for the love she shows to me and my son, but also because she is an amazingly articulate and talented writer who doesn’t have time to write.

Leave a Reply

