Meet Cecile Laginestra, and Learn About Her Passion in the Fashion Industry!

FullSizeRender.jpg

Name: Cecile Laginestra

Class Year: 2018

Major: Communications and Art History

Favorite Class: A History of Fashion & Décor

Favorite thing about BC: The people. Everyone is so hardworking, focused, and passionate.

What can you see yourself doing after graduation?

It has always been my dream to work in the fashion industry. I love graphic design, writing, and art and I can really see myself working with a designer or design house as an artistic director, or in fashion public relations.

What are you doing to get there?

I have been working over the past couple years to get experience in the industry through internships, job shadows, and volunteering. My first year at BC, I interned for a small fashion marketplace headquartered in Boston. I have also shadowed buyers at Bloomingdales, and worked at fashion week for the past two seasons. I really tried to gain as much experience, and as many opportunities as possible in order to see the industry from different perspectives.

How did you learn about fashion and communications?

I always knew I wanted to work in a creative field. I love working with and being around people, which is what led me to declare a Communications major. I spent time comparing the skills I had learned, with the job descriptions and qualifications necessary for various positions within the industry. I wanted to work in a position where everyday would be a new, different, challenge.

What factors have contributed to your interest in fashion and communications?

In high school I took my first marketing class and I really fell in love with the conceptual and artistic aspects of advertising. I knew I wanted to learn more about design in general, and I needed to pair that with knowledge of general business practices. During my time at BC I have learned how to effectively take a project from start to finish.

How did you get started exploring potential careers?

I spent some time making a list of all the things I love to do, and then I did some research about all the possibilities that existed within fashion. I tried to cross reference different positions and I looked closely at the day-to-day tasks that each job required.

What advice would you give to students who are also interested in fashion and communications?

The most important piece of advice I would give anyone who wants to go into fashion or communications is to take any opportunity to learn that you are given, and use the experience to the fullest. Always be adaptable and willing to commit 100% of your effort to any task you are given, no matter how small it may seem.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?

I consider applying, being accepted, and transferring to Boston College my freshman year to be my greatest achievement. It was a difficult decision to make, but it was one of the best choices I have ever made.

Who are your heroes in real life?

Definitely my parents, because they show me what commitment, determination, and success look like everyday. They have taught me the importance of setting goals, working hard, and realizing that nothing comes for free.

Leave a Reply

