Career Clusters Stories + Advice

Internship Spotlight: Warner Bros.

This past week I had the pleasure to talk to Niamh Diver, MCAS class of ‘23, about her experience with Warner Bros. as a part of both the Reach Program and as a College Ambassador. She currently majors in History and Political Science and is involved with the Student Admissions Program and College Democrats. Read below to find out her experience with WB!

-Interview conducted by Serena Meyers, MCAS’ 23

How did you find your internship at Warner Bros?

In high school I knew I wanted to major in Political Science and be on the pre-law track. My plan was always to go to law school and be a civil rights lawyer. However, I live in Los Angeles and have heard a lot about WB, so I applied on a whim and got it. This experience made me realize that I ultimately want to do publicity for entertainment. 

What was your experience like in the Reach Program?

The program runs for four consecutive summers starting right after you graduate high school. The first summer I had no work experience and had no idea what I wanted to do. They ended up putting me in Marketing and Communication for WB Tech. This first summer threw me way into the deep end of corporate life. At the time it was in person and full time, 40 hours per week. It was a bit overwhelming at first, but I quickly got adjusted. During this time I was setting up events, writing reports, and providing content for AT&T. The next summer I was a TV publicity intern, but this time it was virtual. It was the first time I had done a virtual internship, as everyone was learning to switch to the new format, and I was planning Comic-Con. I organized panels with different TV shows, set up schedules, and basically figured out how to shift an entire industry online. It was very hard work pulling everything together in the virtual format, but we all eventually adapted. This past summer I did Global Theatrical and worked on the upcoming movie releases for Space Jam, Suicide Squad, and Dune. I got to work at some of the premiers, which was interesting because I saw a lot of contrasts between TV and film. 

What is the college ambassador program like?

During the fall semester I worked on the publicist side of entertainment and worked with upcoming movies. I put on events and hosted giveaways to promote the movies and help get people excited to go see them. For example, for Dune, I hosted two screenings on campus and a giveaway for students to enter to win tickets to see it. Getting college students engaged can be tricky, but it’s been a very fun and rewarding experience. 

What is your favorite part about either internship so far?

I really like the way the Reach Program is set up. They encourage cross-divisional communication and networking. While being a part of the program, I got to engage with so many people from different departments who held jobs I genuinely never knew existed. Having the opportunity to talk to people in different departments has opened my eyes to seeing how many jobs are out there. Now seeing all of these different types of jobs I could do, I now see the limitations of my prior career goals.

What has been a more challenging aspect of your internship?

The publicity team usually takes on 3 interns, but in the summer of 2020 with COVID they only hired me. I was essentially doing the work of 3 interns and planning an event in a virtual formal for the first time, so it was very challenging to adapt to all of this work. I was lucky to have the opportunity to work from home, but it was challenging to make connections online. However, the company environment was so welcoming and they did all they could given the circumstances. 

Were there any ways you coped with stress during the internship?

I talked to my bosses. They both fostered such a welcoming environment where I was able to go to them whenever I had too much on my plate. If people ask me to do something, I generally have a hard time telling people no because I don’t want to let them down. However, in this role my bosses created a very comfortable space where I could openly communicate if I didn’t have enough time to finish a project I was working on. Setting my boundaries was very important, and it was a skill I developed through my internship. 

Since you do the College Ambassador program during the school semester, how have you managed your work/school/life balance?

During the summer I worked 40 hours a week, full time. However with the College Ambassador program it is much more flexible. I’ve been fortunate to be able to create my own schedule where if I have a busy school week, I can do less work for WB and then the next week I do double. I’m able to manage my work on my own time as long as I hit the deadlines. 

Do you have any advice for getting internships?

It’s super important to network and create connections. It can be scary, but once you get over the awkwardness there are people who want you to succeed and are there to help you. I think fostering new relationships and reaching out to people is super important, especially to ask what a day in their life is like and see if you like their answer and judge whether you even want to pursue that career. 

How do you stay successful in your internships?

I think open communication, asking questions, and being honest is key. I feel like it’s better to ask a thousand questions rather than ask none and get it wrong. I think being comfortable and completely honest and letting people know you’re overworked is important in making you successful in your internship. So if you don’t know how to do something or you need an extension, being completely transparent and having that open communication with your superiors will allow you to flourish in your role.


By Serena Meyers, MCAS’ 23

Interested in learning more about internships at Warner Bros.? Check out their internships and early careers website! 

0 comments on “Internship Spotlight: Warner Bros.

Leave a comment