Exploration Preparation Stories + Advice

Student Internship Stories: Jonathan Mora, LSOEHD 2024 – Massa Viana Law, Legal Intern

How did you find your internship?

I found it on Indeed.

How, if at all, did the Career Center help with your internship search?

The Career Center’s Eagle Intern Fellowship provided me an alternative option to fund a position as an intern in the Worcester DA’s Office.

What did you learn about your career path from your internship experience?

I worked full time during my internship at Massa Viana, an immigration-based law firm in Southborough, MA. Through my experience, I learned about the legal work that is required by paralegals and attorneys to advocate for migrants looking for immigration relief. I have learned both about the legal realm and the way a firm produces their work at the same time. Knowing about the immigration and law-firm administrative processes at the same time was something I had to do on a daily basis. This internship rewarded me with a chance to apply for some client’s Employment Authorization, petition to Adjust their Status as well as drafting and filing motions in the Boston Immigration Court. This experience taught me of the work that goes behind representing immigrants in the legal profession, which is something I pursue to do in the future as an aspiring immigration attorney.

More students just like Jonathan are available for you to talk to! Reach out to them using their contact information on the Student Summer Experiences Form!

0 comments on “Student Internship Stories: Jonathan Mora, LSOEHD 2024 – Massa Viana Law, Legal Intern

Leave a comment