Career Clusters Exploration

Internship Spotlight: Finding an Internship as an International Student

Sue Lee, MCAS ’23, recently accepted an offer as a Summer Analyst with global asset management firm BlackRock in their San Francisco office. Learn more about how Sue navigated the internship search process as an international student. 

How did you find your internship with BlackRock?

I learned about Handshake through the Career Center’s Designing Your Career Course and used it to search for any internships related to consulting. I hadn’t even heard of BlackRock before finding the internship in Handshake, but figured I may as well submit my resume and see what happens. As an international student, it was also helpful to use the filters in Handshake to search for employers who accept OPT and CPT so that I knew I was applying to companies interested in hiring international students.

What resources were helpful to you?

I took advantage of the Career Center a lot, especially meeting with the business, consulting and finance cluster coaches. I also went to some of the career fairs which really helped me to practice networking and to understand how the recruiting process works. The Career Center even has events specifically for international students on topics like networking, resumes, and interviewing that I would recommend. The Office of International Students and Scholars (OISS) also has a lot of great resources which helped me to understand OPT and CPT. 

What advice do you have for fellow international students looking for internships?

The internship search can feel intimidating, but know that you aren’t the only one feeling that way. My advice is to not be scared to ask for help! The Career Center is there to help all students, including international students. The search can be hard, especially with the added stress of work authorization, and it can feel tempting to give up. It’s easier said than done, but don’t give up! Once you get an internship you will look back and feel so proud of what you accomplished.

What do you wish you knew about the process as an international student when you first started your search?

I wish I knew how many resources the Career Center has and I wish I utilized them sooner. I knew the Career Center existed, but I didn’t really understand the type of help they could provide. I now realize they can help with things like resumes, interviewing, networking, and how to find companies hiring international students. It’s okay if the internship search process doesn’t come naturally to you, but it’s important to be proactive and seek support. 

What are you most excited about in your upcoming internship?

I’m looking forward to spending my first summer in San Francisco! I’m a little nervous since I don’t know anyone there and have never visited the west coast, but I’m looking forward to the new journey. It’s going to be a great chance to be more independent, meet new people at BlackRock, and enjoy the weather.

For more resources about internship or job searching as an international student be sure to check out the Career Center’s other blog posts. If you are looking for a job or internship, consider scheduling a coaching appointment and familiarize yourself with how OPT and CPT work. 

By Sue Lee, MCAS ’23

0 comments on “Internship Spotlight: Finding an Internship as an International Student

Leave a comment