Stories + Advice

Student Internship Stories: Emily Barnabas, MCAS ’26 – UsAgainstAlzheimer’s

How did you find your internship?

I found my internship through researching companies of interest and networking with those in my community back home (Washington D.C. metropolitan area). Through this process, I discovered I was more connected to internship opportunities than I thought. Then, I started contacting recruiters of companies that I was most passionate about. 

How, if at all, did the Career Center help with your internship search?

The Career Center was a helpful resource in terms of creating an attractive and professional resume for intern/entry-level positions.

What did you learn about your career path from your internship experience?

During my time at UsAgainstAlzheimer’s, I engaged in interdisciplinary research in order to investigate how private sector businesses can implement prevention measures to support employees’ brain health and healthy aging. Therefore, I gained experience in analyzing the broader practical aspects of neuroscience and public health. This experience reinforced the importance of understanding social determinants of health for a medical career; specifically, by acknowledging that brain health is a product of the lifestyle, community, and policies experienced by an individual.

More students just like Emily are available for you to talk to! Reach out to them using their contact information on the Student Summer Experiences Database.

0 comments on “Student Internship Stories: Emily Barnabas, MCAS ’26 – UsAgainstAlzheimer’s

Leave a comment